top of page

Alumni Spotlight: Greg Houser

Greg Houser graduated Miami in 1994. He skied all three events, but slalom is his favorite. Today, Greg is coaching our slalom team. He’s brought great advice to the team and has helped skiers run the course for the first time and PB.

Year Graduated: 1994

Event(s): I, like everyone on the team, skied all 3 events.

Favorite Event: Slalom

Favorite Ski Team Memory: The road trips with the team were a fantastic time.

Favorite Team Tradition: The October houseboat trip weekend was a blast and a tradition that should be continued.

When did you start skiing? I learned to ski when I was 11, but did not have access to or learn to slalom until I was 18.

Advice for New Skiers: You will never beat the slalom course, so you have to enjoy the experience as you work to get better.

Tell me something about the team back then: The foundation of the team is essentially the same as it was then, a group of college kids that loved the sport and spending time on the water. Plus, you still have Larry helping the team, so things are not that different.

What are you doing now? After being out of the state for a few years, my wife, also a Miami Water Ski alum, and I ended up in Cincinnati, where I am director of research for an institutional investment consulting firm. Many of our teammates have become lifelong friends, we still ski with the Lanich and Phillips families and now our kids are learning and competing in the sport, and for those that we do not see often, we seem to pick up right where we were.

Anything else you'd like to share? I love seeing skiers have success and have been privileged to help the team, including seeing some skiers on the team run their first complete pass and increase their personal bests. I think I may be cheering louder than the skier.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page