top of page

Alumni Spotlight: Thomas McAndrew

Thomas McAndrew is a 2013 Miami graduate. He slalomed all fours, served as Men's Captain, Vice President and President of the team, and is still involved in the sport.

Year Graduate: 2013

Event(s): Slalom

Favorite Memory: I suppose it would be hard to pick anything other than D1 Nationals 2012 at Bennett's in Louisiana. It was the team's first trip to Nationals in its history and we had put in so much work as a group to achieve that goal. It was such a thrill and so rewarding to compete at Nationals, but the moments and accomplishments I cherish the most happened off the water. We worked to improve the team culture and created a welcoming and supportive atmosphere. Winning the spirit award at Regionals 2012 was the culmination of that transformation.

Favorite Tradition: Spring break training trips

When did you start skiing? I don't remember exactly when, but It had to be around 10 or under. I was fortunate to grow up with access to a boat and lake. I loved everything about the water and would ski, wakeboard, kneeboard, and tube as much as I could.

Advice for New Skiers: Don't be afraid to ask for help. Competitive skiing can be intimidating. I had never seen a slalom course until my freshman year at Miami. But the ski community, especially the collegiate ski community, is so welcoming. Folks are willing to help out and pass on their knowledge if you take the time to ask.

Tell me something about the team: We were a very tight knit group. I think that was the result of all of us working so hard toward a common purpose. The relationships built on the team are some of my most valued relationships to this day. My best friends, best memories, and best times of my life. I'll always be thankful to the Miami Ski Team for that.

What are you doing now? I'm a lawyer in Chicago. I still spend my summers on the lake in southern Wisconsin and always looking for folks to ski with! So current members or alumni--feel free to reach out.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page